Thread: The wait is over :)

The wait is over :)

Well I have been contemplating getting this for around 8 months and have finally decided to pull the trigger. I am looking for a juvenile crocodile monitor to join the fam. I started getting the supplies to build his/her cage today. It is going to be 10 long by 12 tall by 5 deep. I am going to lift the cage by 2ft for the pond drainage so I can clean it easier and run the mist king in it. So far it looks like am going to build the climbing branches as I go. The only problem is testing split design...I am making it where I can split the cage in half by its length for transport..we'll see.
    It would be really nice to see one at Repticon this weekend....

Re: The wait is over :)

Quote Originally Posted by Bull74 View Post
    Well I have been contemplating getting this for around 8 months and have finally decided to pull the trigger. I am looking for a juvenile crocodile monitor to join the fam. I started getting the supplies to build his/her cage today. It is going to be 10 long by 12 tall by 5 deep. I am going to lift the cage by 2ft for the pond drainage so I can clean it easier and run the mist king in it. So far it looks like am going to build the climbing branches as I go. The only problem is testing split design...I am making it where I can split the cage in half by its length for transport..we'll see.
    It would be really nice to see one at Repticon this weekend....
    My first post back, and I can say with full honesty (because I only got 5 hours of sleep and don't care), is that owning a croc monitor is both stupid and irresponsible.

Tell me, how much experience do you have with monitors? I know people with 30+ years who won't keep them, the potential for damage is massive.